Apr 15, 2020
Burger King ads for 'plant-based' Whopper banned
Burger King has been banned from showing adverts suggesting its Rebel Whopper, which is cooked alongside meat and contains egg, is vegan-friendly. Burger King said it had been "Clear and transparent" in its marketing. The ASA found that Burger King's social media posts about the Rebel Whopper gave the impression it could be eaten by vegans and vegetarians. The ASA said: "We considered it was not sufficiently prominent to override the overall impression that the burger was suitable for vegetarians and vegans." Burger King told the ASA that it had been "Clearly communicated" on social media and to journalists that the burger may not be suitable for vegetarians or vegans.
Make a complaint about Burger King by viewing their customer service contacts.